Welcome to West Alternative Learning Center!

11140 Bren Road W, Minnetonka, MN 55343

Phone Number: 952-653-1655

West Alternative (W-ALT) is an alternative high school for students working towards their high school diploma. We serve students in grades 9-12, up to age 21.

About

W-ALT is a credit-based program that offers:

  • High school diploma classes that meet the standard state requirements through blended learning.
  • Courses in work experience, art, and engineering.
  • Career exploration and employment training.
  • Exploratory activities including art classes, career day, college tours, and access to college classes through Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie campus.

What makes us different?

  • W-Alt works with students at their skill level to help them build confidence in their abilities.
  • W-Alt is a continuous progress model program (students earn a .25 credit at their own pace and only takes classes they need for their graduation plan).
  • W-Alt is a blended learning environment (digital learning tools).
  • Small class sizes and greater individual attention.
  • Project-based learning opportunities.
  • AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) Program.
  • Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS) framework.
  • Access to support staff, including School Counselor and Social Worker.
Enrollment

Enroll Here!

Any questions? Contact:

Amy Kuklock - akkuklock@district287.org or 952-374-5761

WALT News

Coming Soon

Contact Information

Assistant Principal: Scott Swanson saswanson@district287.org  952-653-1646

Administration Support: Amy Kuklock  akkuklock@district287.org  952-374-5761

Social Worker: Chrislee Jacobs  cajacobs@district287.org  952-856-0683

Counselor: Jordanna Schluttner jnschluttner@district287.org 952-653-1632

Teacher Contacts

Special Ed/Electives: Natalie Azbill  - 612-562-9013 - nwazbill@district287.org

Science: Jake Cavanaugh - 612-666-0613 - jcavanaugh@district287.org

English: Timothy Connors  - 952-653-1663 - tpconnors@district287.org

Social Studies/Art: Hannah Mattson  - 952-653-1642 - hmmattson@district287.org

Special Ed/Electives: John McNally  - 952-653-1672 - jamcnally@district287.org

Math: Matt Schoenecker  - 952-653-1626 - mmschoenecker@district287.org

Work Exp/Phy Ed: Jeremy Shibley  - 952-374-5750 - jmshibley@district287.org

Education Assistant: Winter Oloafe - 763-550-7231 - wsoloafe@district287.org