Mental Health Services

The specialized support services we bring to the multidisciplinary school team include: home-school-community collaboration, identifying child mental health needs, social skills, group and individual support, self advocacy, assessing student social, emotional, and behavioral needs, behavior intervention, crisis intervention, mediation and problem resolution, coordination of community agency services, family support, tracking attendance and truancy, provide program and community resources.

School Social Workers use an ecological perspective to link school, home, and the community together. We help build relationships with family and school for a shared approach to help promote student learning. School Social Workers provide information about children’s mental health needs to the school staff. The philosophy of crisis intervention comes from strengths-oriented theory. These techniques are designed to develop coping strategies and to resolve crisis to increase life skills and pro social emotional learning.

Metro Area Mental Health Crisis Response

Anoka County: (763) 755 - 3801

Hennepin County:
   Adult (612) 596 - 1223
   Children (612) 348 - 2233

In a life - threatening emergency, call 911

The Social Workers at NEC are:

Kelly Betzold, LGSW

Elementary EBD
763-550-7243
kjbetzold@district287.org
             
Kelly Mwei, LGSW
CIP
763-550-3140
ktmwei@district287.org         


Jamie Anderson, ALC

Jmanderson@district287.org

 

Lyla Peterson, MSW, LICSW 
STRIVE Secondary and SUN 
763-550-3159
ljpeterson@district287.org

Bryce Merriman, LICSW

Options Middle, InVest Middle, Safe, Strive
763-550-3148
brmerriman@district287.org 
 

 Shaina Feingold, Stive/SUN

Sgfeingold@district287.org

  

 



 





Intermediate District 287
1820 XENIUM LANE NORTH Plymouth, MN 55441
PH: 763-559-3535
info@district287.org

About Us


Student Choice


Special Education


School Services


Professional Services


Education Centers


Departments


page tools:
email page print page small type default type large type
powered by finalsite